Archive

You are currently browsing the Roosevelt Island Historical Society blog archives.

Aug

6

MAPPING ROOSEVELT ISLAND: 1656 TO 2011

By admin

MAPPING ROOSEVELT ISLAND: 1656 TO 2011

(where in the world is Roosevelt island?)

An exhibition of maps created over a 350-year period reveals the effort to delineate the topography and the changing role of Roosevelt Island: from a private Dutch colonial holding to the site of an extensive array of social welfare institutions operating from the mid-19th century to the current day.

Explore the island history through these eight unique maps from the archives of

The Roosevelt Island Historical Society

The exhibition is on display in:

The Octagon Gallery

888 Main Street, Roosevelt Island

Open daily from 9:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m.

The exhibit is FREE and will be on view through August 20, 2011.

———————————————————————

INHABITING  MNEMONIC  DESIGN  ON  ROOSEVELT  ISLAND

Window Display Invites Memory and Creation in Depiction of Artists’ Residence within Ruins

Mnemonic design involves “a personal connection to a space,” according to Ellen Ivanits. Her plan for an artists’ residence built in the partial structure of the Smallpox Hospital, now in ruins on Roosevelt Island, invites artists to use memory in an act of creation. On view in the window of 513 Main Street, Roosevelt Island thru August 30, 2011

R.I.H.S. Visitor Center Kiosk

Visit our historic center to obtain information about the island history, walking tours, maps, events, sites and information about the newly opened Southpoint Park.

Open Thursday, Saturday, Sunday 12 noon to 5 p.m. and Friday 1 p.m. to 6 p.m.

www.rihs.us

find us on Facebook

212-688-4836

Feb

23

RIHS Receives an Award

By admin

May

13

Kiosk gets a Face Lift

By admin

The Roosevelt Island Historical Society’s Kiosk is being restored.  Here are photos of 100 years of paint being stripped off to reveal the cast iron and even some copper around the windows.

Half cleaned Kiosk

Comparing the two halves

Nov

8

Island Photos Circa 1968

By admin

A friend on the island discovered these 6 photos circa 1968. They show the lsland before any development started in 1970.

Photo 1 The Welfare Island Bridge went directly to the West Road. There was no Main Street. To the south are the Cancer and Neurological Hospitals.

Photo 1

Photo 2 South view of area that now includes PS/IS 217 and Westview

Photo 2

Photo 3 A forlorn and empty Chapel of the Good Shepherd. Next to it is the Good Samaritan German Lutheran Church. The buildings surrounding them were part of the City Home, a home for elderly, sickly and impoverished.

Photo 3

Photo 4 Entwined in the weeds are the three wings of Blackwell House. The north wing was demolished during its 1975 restoration.  To the south is the driveway and entrance to the Central Nurses Residence.

Photo 4

Photo 5 Goldwater Memorial Hospital from the east with the now demolished City Hospital to the south.  The City Hospital was built from east to west across the island.  The walls of the hospital were quarried from the stone on the island.

Photo 5

Photo 6 From the south looking to the island is the Smallpox Hospital. The building to the east of the center of the hospital “H” is Brennan Hall, part of the complex. This building was demolished very soon after this photo was taken.  The buildings just north were part of the complex of nursing school and staff housing.

Photo 6