Dec

10

Tuesday, December 10, 2024 – FOR OVER A CENTURY THE SITE OF ICE SKATING

By admin

SKATING IN CENTRAL PARK


 December 10, 2024


ISSUE #1359


 NYC MUNICIPAL ARCHIVES

Skating in Central Park

Cynthia Brenwall
The sport of ice skating in Victorian-era New York was so popular that all submissions to the 1857 design competition for Central Park were required to include a winter skating area. As one of the few socially acceptable activities that could be enjoyed in mixed company (along with tennis and bicycling), the Department of Parks’ Board of Commissioners recognized that a public skating rink would be a great source of healthful recreation for city dwellers. Called the Skating Pond on Calvert Vaux and Frederick Law Olmsted’s winning Greensward plan, the Lake was one of the first areas of the park to be open to the public for the 1858-59 skating season, well before construction of many other park areas had started.


Detail of Calvert Vaux and Frederick Law Olmsted’s 1857 Greensward plan submission drawing showing the skating pond. Black ink with colored pencil on paper. Department of Parks Collection, NYC Municipal Archives.In the early days of the park, ice skating on the Lake drew huge crowds—some thirty thousand people daily. Beginning in 1868, a three-story chalet-style “skate tent,” as it was called, was put up and taken down at the south end of the lake during the winter season. The 1870 report of the Board of Commissioners described the tent amenity: on the first floor it had concessions, changing areas, a place to warm up, a refreshment stand, and a cloak room. The second story provided windows for spectators to view the skating while enjoying a beverage, and the third level served as a “ladies look-out exclusively.” 
Design for a Skate House. Julius Munckwitz, architect, 1884. Ink and watercolor on paper. Department of Parks Collection, NYC Municipal Archives.To replace the original “skating tent,” actually a wooden structure, after it had fallen into disrepair, architect Julius Munckwitz prepared this drawing for a new Skate House in 1884, which provided a detailed elevation view and a floor plan with restaurants for men and women as well as a parlor and smoking room.In addition to the main skating area, Vaux and Olmsted also provided a more secluded space reserved for women who preferred to skate away from the mixed-gender, social atmosphere on the Lake. Located on a small inlet just beyond Balcony Bridge, the Ladies Skating Pond provided a “ladies only” option for the more modest skaters of the day. As construction in the park continued, other bodies of water such as the Conservatory Water and the Pond also became popular skating venues.In an effort to make the man-made Lake safe throughout the year, it was equipped with waste weirs (to lower water levels) and sluice gates (to raise water levels). During summer, sluice gates kept the water level at seven feet deep to accommodate boaters. In winter, the waste weirs lowered the level to just four feet to lessen the possibility of an accidental drowning if a skater fell through too-thin ice and each night, a series of eighteen hydrants, or valves, spread water to create a fresh sheet of ice.


Design of the sluice gate for the outlet of the Skating Pond, c. 1858. Black and red ink with pencil, blue crayon, and colored washes on paper. Department of Parks Collection, NYC Municipal Archives.With large crowds arriving daily, Olmsted instituted many park rules for wintertime users of the Lake. He stipulated, for example, that visitors should “not drop any tobacco, segar-stumps, paper, nutshells, or other articles on the ice” and that, “a ball will be hoisted to the top of the pole, near the bell tower whenever the ice is in full condition for skating.” However, Olmsted did relax one rule during the ice-skating season—park closing time—extending it from eight o’clock to midnight. Harper’s Monthy Magazine in 1861 described the nighttime spectacle: “The dramatic aspect of the jubilee [of skating] is greatly increased by the sparkle of the moonbeams and the glare of the Drummond lights, which flood the scene with startling brilliance.”


Summer and winter water levels at the site of the Rustic Bridge crossing an arm of the Ladies Skating Pond, c. 1860. Black and colored inks with pencil on paper. Department of Parks Collection, NYC Municipal Archives.The levels of the water of the Lake ranged from seven feet deep in the summer to provide ample room for boaters and swimmers to only four feet in the winter as a safety measure should anyone fall through the ice.While the popularity of ice skating waned in the later part of the century, it never completely fell out of fashion and remained a wintertime draw for the park, albeit one contingent on the fickle nature of New York weather. In 1949, philanthropist Kate Wollman donated $600,000 toward construction of a new kind of “artificial rink” to be built in Central Park. The Parks Department publicity materials stated that the rink guaranteed access to safe skating for New Yorkers “who have been deprived of the pleasure of regular, uninterrupted outdoor ice skating throughout the winter half year because of vagaries of our climate.” Created as a memorial to her parents and four brothers, Wollman Rink opened at the south end of the park in 1950. More than 300,000 visitors arrived in the first year and by 1953 the rink had welcomed its one millionth skater. Noted for its vast size of approximately 31,000 square feet, the rink required over sixteen miles of 1 ¼ inch wrought-iron pipe for construction.


Wollman Memorial Skating Rink, Central Park, 1960. Mayor Wagner Collection, NYC Municipal Archives.In addition to Wollman Rink, Central Park is also home to the Lasker Rink and Pool located at the northern end of the park near the Harlem Meer. Named for its major benefactor Loula Davis Lasker, a philanthropist and social worker, who donated $600,000 to help build the rink in 1961, the skating rink opened in 1966 and is converted into a public swimming pool during the summer months.
MORE SHOPPING OPPORTUNITIES THIS WEEK

Find some artistic bargains this and next weekend at Gallery RIVAA

More great shopping next weekend!!!

Our three bears are all snuggled up under a Roosevelt Island tapestry throw.

All our critters are gathering uder the dramatic forest

Time to think of Chanukah gifts

Chanukah starts on the evening of Dec. 25th.

Our cuddle critters are swinging from the swag

You never know where a sloth will pop up

Our tree is ready for gifts beneath


JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

JULIA GASH EXCLUSIVE DESIGN NOTE CARDS  10 PACK $18-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND TOTE  $22-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND BABY BIB    $20-

KIDS BOOKS
LONELY PLANET   TRAINS, LONELY PLANET AIRPORTS $ 10-
100 FIRST WORDS LITTLE NEW YORKERS, LITTLE GENIUSES   $10-
ZOOM!  BEEP!  VROOM!  $11-

ADULT BOOKS
IMAGES AMERICA ROOSEVELT ISLAND, QUEENSBORO BRIDGE, LONG ISLAND CITY $25-
DAMNATION ISLAND $18-
ZINES  MANDY CHOI, SHEEP IN THE CITY   $ 6-


NELLIE BLY’S TEN DAYS IN A MAD-HOUSE   $12-

OUR COLORING BOOK IS BACK    $10-

CREDITS

This blog is adapted from the Municipal Archives’ forthcoming publication, The Central Park, Original Designs for New York’s Greatest Treasure.

The book is now available for pre-order from the publisher, Abrams Books:

https://www.abramsbooks.com/product/central-park_9781419732324/

NEW YORK CITY MUNICIPAL ARCHIVES
JUDITH BERDY

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Dec

9

Monday, December 9, 2024 – 1975 LOWER EAST SIDE ON EXHIBIT

By admin

LOWER EAST SIDE

1975 EXHIBITION OPEN


 December 9, 2024


ISSUE #1358


JUDITH BERDY

Lower East Side 1975 Exhibition Opening

 by Editorial Staff 

Jewish Business, Lower East Side, 1975 (photo by Richard Marc Sakols)As a young student in 1975, Richard Marc Sakols ventured to the Manhattan‘s Lower East Side to explore the neighborhood where his grandmother was born.

His photos of the Eldridge Street Synagogue showcase the precarious state of the building, then in disrepair after years of neglect, and provide a glimpse into the earliest efforts to preserve its legacy.

By the 1970s, much of the Lower East Side’s Jewish population had moved away and more recent arrivals, notably from Latin America and China, along with a bevy of young artists drawn by low rents, ushered in a new chapter of the neighborhood’s story.

The photographs of Lower East Side, 1975 shed light on this cultural moment.

The Museum at Eldridge Street,  which is housed in the historic 1887 Eldridge Street Synagogue, is presenting “Lower East Side, 1975: Portrait of a Changing Jewish Neighborhood,” an exhibition featuring never-before-seen photographs of the Lower East Side by Richard Marc Sakols.

On Tuesday, December 3, 2024, from 6 until 8 pm, the Museum will host an exhibition opening featuring an informal talk by the photographer.

The ticket price which includes Museum admission, is “Pay-What-You-Wish.” You can get tickets here.

Learn more about the exhibition at eldridgestreet.org/les-1975.

Find some artistic bargains this and next weekend at Gallery RIVAA

More great shopping next weekend!!!

Our three bears are all snuggled up under a Roosevelt Island tapestry throw.

All our critters are gathering uder the dramatic forest

Time to think of Chanukah gifts

Chanukah starts on the evening of Dec. 25th.

Our cuddle critters are swinging from the swag

You never know where a sloth will pop up

Our tree is ready for gifts beneath

JULIA GASH TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK!!   $75-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

CREDITS

NEW YORK ALMANACK
JUDITH BERDY

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Dec

8

Sunday, December 8, 2024 – GREAT SHOPPING ON THE ISLAND THIS WEEKEND

By admin

CELEBRATIONS, EXHIBITIONS,

HOLIDAY SHOPPING

THIS WEEKEND

December 7-9, 2024

ISSUE #1356

Annual tree lighting this evening at the Blackwell Lawn (Photo Rooseveltislander blogspot)

Stop into the warm and comfy 

Find some artistic bargains this and next weekend at Gallery RIVAA

Our three bears are all snuggled up under a Roosevelt Island tapestry throw.

All our critters are gathering under the dramatic forest

Time to think of Chanukah gifts

Chanukah starts on the evening of Dec. 25th.

Our cuddle critters are swinging from the swag

You never know where a sloth will pop up

Our tree is ready for gifts beneath

JULIA GASH TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK!!   $75-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

JULIA GASH EXCLUSIVE DESIGN NOTE CARDS  10 PACK $18-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND TOTE  $22-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND BABY BIB    $10-

KIDS BOOKS
LONELY PLANET   TRAINS, LONELY PLANET AIRPORTS $ 10-
100 FIRST WORDS LITTLE NEW YORKERS, LITTLE GENIUSES   $10-
ZOOM!  BEEP!  VROOM!  $11-

ADULT BOOKS
IMAGES AMERICA ROOSEVELT ISLAND, QUEENSBORO BRIDGE, LONG ISLAND CITY $25-
DAMNATION ISLAND $18-
ZINES  MANDY CHOI, SHEEP IN THE CITY   $ 6-

NELLIE BLY’S TEN DAYS IN A MAD-HOUSE   $12-

OUR COLORING BOOK IS BACK    $10-

SQUEEZE TAXI  $5- SMALL,  $8- SMALL

CREDITS FOR WINDOW DECOR

JUDITH BERDY
GLORIA HERMAN
SHEILA WALSH 

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Dec

7

Weekend, December 6-7, 2024 – GREAT SHOPPING ON THE ISLAND THIS WEEKEND

By admin

CELEBRATIONS, EXHIBITIONS,

HOLIDAY SHOPPING

THIS WEEKEND

Annual tree lighting this evening at the Blackwell Lawn (Phot Rooseveltislander blogspot)

Stop into the warm and comfy 

Find some artistic bargains this and next weekend at Gallery RIVAA

Our three bears are all snuggled up under a Roosevelt Island tapestry throw.

All our critters are gathering uder the dramatic forest

Chanukah starts on the evening of Dec. 25th.

Our cuddle critters are swinging from the swag

You never know where a sloth will pop up

Our tree is ready for gifts beneath

JULIA GASH TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK!!   $75-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

JULIA GASH EXCLUSIVE DESIGN NOTE CARDS  10 PACK $18-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND TOTE  $22-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND BABY BIB    $10-

KIDS BOOKS
LONELY PLANET   TRAINS, LONELY PLANET AIRPORTS $ 10-
100 FIRST WORDS LITTLE NEW YORKERS, LITTLE GENIUSES   $10-
ZOOM!  BEEP!  VROOM!  $11-

ADULT BOOKS
IMAGES AMERICA ROOSEVELT ISLAND, QUEENSBORO BRIDGE, LONG ISLAND CITY $25-
DAMNATION ISLAND $18-
ZINES  MANDY CHOI, SHEEP IN THE CITY   $ 6-

NELLIE BLY’S TEN DAYS IN A MAD-HOUSE   $12-

OUR COLORING BOOK IS BACK $10-

SQUEEZE TAXI  $5- SMALL,  $8- SMALL

CREDITS

JUDITH BERDY
GLORIA HERMAN
SHEILA WALSH 

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Dec

4

Wednesday, December 4, 2024 – NEW YORK MUNICIPAL ARCHIVES:A SHORT HISTORY

By admin

NEW YORK MUNICIPAL

ARCHIVES:

A SHORT HISTORY

December 3, 2024 by Guest Contributor 

When we think about the past, how do we know what we know about it? Sure, someone can tell you that something happened, but what about events and actions that took place beyond the reaches of living memory?

For archivists, the answer to this question is simple: the documentary record. Our ability to authenticate what we know (or challenge what we think we know) about the past rests in the security, integrity, and accessibility of the archival record.

And in New York City, as you may imagine, the written, photographic, and electronic records of all the iterations of City government, from European contact to the present, have been at serious risk of loss and destruction at various times in their history.

Prior to the early 1950s, New York City had no centralized archive to preserve and make available local government records. New York State laws governed the practices of other municipalities, but New York City was exempt from those requirements.

Although the Municipal Library had existed, as a unit of the New York Public Library, to collect, preserve, and make available government publications and reports, there was still no real program to address the collection of unpublished material produced by NYC government. The situation at the time of the creation of the Municipal Archives in 1950 was dire.

In 1900, as part of a major (and in some cases, first) attempt to understand what historical records were available in the United States, the American Historical Society established the Public Records Commission.

Professor Herbert Osgood, of Columbia University, surveyed the records of NYC government as part of this survey. His findings, cited “neglect” and “loss” and described records in various offices “indiscriminately heaped together in a large pile on the floor and covered with dust.” His descriptions are enough to make any concerned citizen cringe (or cry).

Over ensuing decades, various mayors tried to rectify the problem, ordering collections be kept by the New York Public Library, and making other ad hoc attempts at fixing the enormous problems facing the city’s historical records. Study after study confirmed the findings, but there were no comprehensive attempts providing for the sustainability of the archival records.

Enter Rebecca B. Rankin, founding Librarian of the Municipal Library. As a result of her advocacy, Mayor La Guardia convened a committee in 1939 to deal with the issue.

The Mayor’s Municipal Archives Committee took stock of the situation, finding that historical records were stored in over 2,000 locations, in “offices… basements, attics, piers, and bridgeheads.”

Crucial to Rankin and the Committee’s advocacy for a comprehensive records program was the finding that 20% of working space in municipal buildings in 1940 stored unused records. Then, as now, city real estate was not cheap.

The result: In 1943, the City bought the Rhinelander building at 238 William Street for use as a central repository for government records.

In 1952, on the eve of Rankin’s retirement, the New York Times reported that moving to a central storage system had saved the City over $1,200,000 in storage costs since 1942. The Municipal Archives had begun.

Archival material began to trickle in, and a system for taking in active city records was established. The archival collection, consisting primarily of the historical records of the Office of the Mayor, totaled only around 14,000 cubic feet at the outset (now it is around 225,000 cubic feet and growing).

In 1953, the center, still managed by the NYPL, was renamed the Municipal Archive and Reference Center (MARC).

However, the records program was beleaguered by lack of staff and lack of proper equipment due to a decrease in funding after World War II. The MARC was not functioning. Some agencies did not use the services that MARC provided, since they weren’t compelled by law to do so, and historic records of the City were spread among a variety of agencies, historical societies, and other libraries.

In addition, space at the Rhinelander was running out, as the MARC accumulated nearly 15,000 cubic feet of records per year. As the City attempted to grapple with the ever-increasing volume of records, plans were even made to refurbish the spaces in the arches of the Brooklyn Bridge to store the extensive records generated by the Office of the Comptroller. This odd plan was eventually deemed a stop-gap measure to a larger problem, and discarded.

Mayor Lindsay eventually forged ahead, commissioning a Mayor’s Task Force on Municipal Archives in 1965. The Task Force presented their findings in a 1966 report that concluded: “New York City’s past, even its very recent past, is threatened with obliteration.”

The Task Force recommended the convening of a Public Records Commission to deal with the issues and, in 1968, MARC moved out of the purview of the NYPL and was established as part of the new Municipal Services Administration. The storage facility was also moved, from the Rhinelander building to 23 Park Row.

Enter the notorious fiscal crisis that besieged the city in the 1970s. Once again the MARC suffered from a lack of adequate funding and staff. In 1977, with yet more advocacy by Municipal Librarian Eugene Bockman and City Council President Paul O’Dwyer, local law 49 established the Department of Records and Information Services as a mayoral agency and provided capital funding to refurbish the Hall of Records at 31 Chambers Street.

The law requires that the Archives “preserve and receive all city records of historical research, cultural or other important value.” Finally, New York City’s records were legally required to come to a specific agency, giving birth to a centralized record-keeping system and protecting the integrity, security, and accessibility of New York City government’s historical record.

A version of this essay by Rachel Greer was first published on the New York City Municipal Archives Blog. The Municipal Archives preserves and makes available New York City government’s historical records. Records include office documents, manuscripts, still and moving images, vital records, maps, blueprints, and sound recordings. Learn more about historical records the Municipal Archives at their website.

Illustrations, from above, from the NYC Municipal Archives: Storage room, NYC Department of Records and Information Services, n.d.; Rebecca Rankin, probably late 1930s, Director of the Municipal Reference Library from 1920-1952; and the Hall of Records at 31 Chambers Street in lower Manhattan, mid-1980s.

In 2013, the RIHS acquired 180 architectural drawings of Goldwater Hospital. These included original blueprints and updates of the building over the years. After storing the rolls of plans in our Octagon office, they were relocated to our storage area during a building renovation. During this period, we reached out to the Municipal Archives and proposed transferring the plans to them. This process would be straightforward as the plans originated from a municipal agency. At the time, the Archives were relocating from the Surrogate Court Building to a new site in Industry City, Brooklyn. Finally, in 2021, we received permission to transport the files to Brooklyn. Fortunately, the plans have now been organized, cataloged, and are conserved in a newly built conservation space.

Plans in Goldwater kitchen waiting to be sorted

Plans in RIHS Octagon Office

Plans in the Municipal Archives

ROOSEVELT ISLAND COLORING BOOK      $10-
TRAM HOLIDAY STOCKING  $ 35-
“IMAGES OF AMERICA- ROOSEVELT ISLAND”   $25-
HELL GATE BRIDGE MODEL   $40-
CROCHET TRAM ORNAMENT   $20-

CUDDLY-STUFFED SLOTHS IN 3 SIZES $12, $18, $24

CUDDLE PUPS AND KITTENS   $12-

IMPORTED HANDMADE DOG SWEATERS   $ 35- (LIMITED STOCK)

IMPORTED HANDMADE GONDOLA PILLOWS   $55-

HANDMADE IMPORTED CROCHET ORNAMENTS  $20-

EXCLUSIVE HOLIDAY GREETING CARDS   $3.50 EACH

JULIA GASH TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK!!   $75-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

JULIA GASH EXCLUSIVE DESIGN NOTE CARDS  10 PACK $18-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND TOTE  $22-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND BABY BIB    $10-

KIDS BOOKS
LONELY PLANET   TRAINS, LONELY PLANET AIRPORTS $ 10-
100 FIRST WORDS LITTLE NEW YORKERS, LITTLE GENIUSES   $10-
ZOOM!  BEEP!  VROOM!  $11-

ADULT BOOKS
IMAGES AMERICA ROOSEVELT ISLAND, QUEENSBORO BRIDGE, LONG ISLAND CITY $25-
DAMNATION ISLAND $18-
ZINES  MANDY CHOI, SHEEP IN THE CITY   $ 6-

NELLIE BLY’S TEN DAYS IN A MAD-HOUSE   $12-

OUR COLORING BOOK IS BACK    $10-

SQUEEZE TAXI  $5- SMALL,  $8- SMALL

CREDITS

JUDITH BERDY
 NEW YORK ALMANACK

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Dec

3

Tuesday, December 3, 2024 – TIME FOR A TOUCH OF BRITAIN IN NYC

By admin

 Bloody Brilliant Things

To Do In

NYC’s Little Britain

From stopping for a pint at the local pub or ordering crispy fish n chips to munch on, there’s no better place to experience English culture in NYC than its very own Little Britain.

Is there anything more British than a cup of tea? Tea & Sympathy owners, Nicky Perry and Sean Kavanagh-Dowsett, have set out to bring a true taste of England to NYC with afternoon tea fit for a Queen. Beyond tea time, the adorable shop sells an assortment of British groceries and comfort food. We recommend stopping by for a Full English Breakfast.

108 Greenwich Avenue

Fancy some fish n chips? This British classic is best served at A Salt and Battery. Sink your teeth into crispy, lightly-battered, deep fried fish like only England knows how to do. And don’t forget to splash some malt vinegar on your chips (aka fries)!

112 Greenwich Avenue

Myers of Keswick is an integral part of NYC’s Little Britain as the city’s oldest British grocery store. Selling homemade pies, sausages and scones since 1985, no visit to Little Britain is complete without picking up a few British goods from here. Whether you’re a British expat in NYC or simply an Anglophile, find all the best treats of England, from Jaffa Cakes to Smarties (iykyk).

634 Hudson Street

It’s not a trip to Little Britain without grabbing a pint at the pub. White Horse Tavern is NYC’s second oldest tavern, and a perfect place to enjoy a nice cold beer. Famous patrons such as Bob Dylan, James Baldwin, and Dylan Thomas are rumored to have frequented the spot.

567 Hudson St., at 11th Street

ROOSEVELT ISLAND COLORING BOOK      $10-
TRAM HOLIDAY STOCKING  $ 35-
“IMAGES OF AMERICA- ROOSEVELT ISLAND”   $25-
HELL GATE BRIDGE MODEL   $40-
CROCHET TRAM ORNAMENT   $20-

CUDDLY-STUFFED SLOTHS IN 3 SIZES $12, $18, $24

CUDDLE PUPS AND KITTENS   $12-

IMPORTED HANDMADE DOG SWEATERS   $ 35- (LIMITED STOCK)

IMPORTED HANDMADE GONDOLA PILLOWS   $55-

HANDMADE IMPORTED CROCHET ORNAMENTS  $20-

EXCLUSIVE HOLIDAY GREETING CARDS   $3.50 EACH

JULIA GASH TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK!!   $75-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

JULIA GASH EXCLUSIVE DESIGN NOTE CARDS  10 PACK $18-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND TOTE  $22-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND BABY BIB    $10-

KIDS BOOKS
LONELY PLANET   TRAINS, LONELY PLANET AIRPORTS $ 10-
100 FIRST WORDS LITTLE NEW YORKERS, LITTLE GENIUSES   $10-
ZOOM!  BEEP!  VROOM!  $11-

ADULT BOOKS
IMAGES AMERICA ROOSEVELT ISLAND, QUEENSBORO BRIDGE, LONG ISLAND CITY $25-
DAMNATION ISLAND $18-
ZINES  MANDY CHOI, SHEEP IN THE CITY   $ 6-
NELLIE BLY’S TEN DAYS IN A MAD-HOUSE   $12-

OUR COLORING BOOK IS BACK    $10-

https://rooseveltislander.blogspot.com/2024/11/rosie-roosevelt-island-wild-turkey.html

GREAT GIFT FAVORITES AND LOTS OF NEW GREAT STUFF

CREDITS

JUDITH BERDY
SECRET NEW YORK

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Dec

2

Monday, December 2, 2024 – SEE ALL OUR GREAT MERCHANDISE AT THE KIOSK

By admin

NOW IS THE TIME FOR

TIME FOR 

HOLIDAY SHOPPING

AT THE KIOSK

ROOSEVELT ISLAND COLORING BOOK      $10-
TRAM HOLIDAY STOCKING  $ 35-
“IMAGES OF AMERICA- ROOSEVELT ISLAND”   $25-
HELL GATE BRIDGE MODEL   $40-
CROCHET TRAM ORNAMENT   $20-

 

CUDDLY-STUFFED SLOTHS IN 3 SIZES $12, $18, $24

CUDDLE PUPS AND KITTENS $12-

IMPORTED HANDMADE DOG SWEATERS   $ 35- (LIMITED STOCK)

IMPORTED HANDMADE GONDOLA PILLOWS   $55-

HANDMADE IMPORTED CROCHET ORNAMENTS  $20-

EXCLUSIVE HOLIDAY GREETING CARDS   $3.50 EACH

JULIA GASH TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK!!   $75-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND PORCELAIN ORNAMENT   $20-

JULIA GASH EXCLUSIVE DESIGN NOTE CARDS  10 PACK $18-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND TOTE  $22-

JULIA GASH ROOSEVELT ISLAND BABY BIB    $10-

KIDS BOOKS
LONELY PLANET   TRAINS, LONELY PLANET AIRPORTS $ 10-
100 FIRST WORDS LITTLE NEW YORKERS, LITTLE GENIUSES   $10-
ZOOM!  BEEP!  VROOM!  $11-

ADULT BOOKS
IMAGES AMERICA ROOSEVELT ISLAND, QUEENSBORO BRIDGE, LONG ISLAND CITY $25-
DAMNATION ISLAND $18-
ZINES  MANDY CHOI, SHEEP IN THE CITY   $ 6-

NELLIE BLY’S TEN DAYS IN A MAD-HOUSE   $12-

OUR COLORING BOOK IS BACK    $10-

SQUEEZE TAXIS    LARGE   $ 8-  SMALL  $5-
THE R.I.H.S NEEDS YOUR SUPPORT!!

TO  WELCOME ALL TO THE ISLAND AND THE RIHS VISITOR CENTER
AND INTRODUCE  THEM TO OUR ISLAND

TO PRESERVE HISTORIC LANDMARKS ON THE ISLAND

TO ADVOCATE FOR PRESERVATION OF OUR STRUCTURES

TO WORK WITH ARTISTS, WRITERS AND PROFESSIONALS TO TELL THE STORY OF THE ISLAND AND ITS HISTORY. EDUCATE ALL ON THE IMPORTANCE OF THE MULTIPLE LAYERS OF ISLAND HISTORY, SUCH AS OUR PROGRAMS WITH THE
NYPL.

TO TEACH OF CHILDREN OF THE FAMILIES THAT LIVED HERE BEFORE US

TO WELCOME VISITORS TO THE ISLAND AND GUIDE THEM
IMPROVE SIGNAGE TO GUIDE VISITORS TO OUR COMMUNITY, TO SUPPORT OUR BUSINESSES.

TO ESCORT GROUPS TOURING THE ISLAND

TO SUPPORT RESIDENTS BECOMING INVOLVED IN GUIDING 
VISITORS

SPONSOR OFF ISLAND PROGRAMS TO LEARN OF OTHER COMMUNITIES

TO WORK WITH ARTS GROUPS SUCH AS RIVAA ON PROGRAMS AND EXBIHITS.

TOP WORK WITH RIOC TO STRESS THE IMPORTANCE OF MAINTENANCE OF OUR COMMUNITY FABRIC.

TO  EDUCATE PERSONS WORKING ON THE ISLAND OF THE HISTORY AND MAKE THEM AMBASSADORS OF OUR COMMUNITY.

TO WORK WITH SCHOLARS RESEARCHING ISLAND HISTORY


WITHOUT MEMBERSHIPS AND DONATION THE VISITOR CENTER AND SOCIETY CANNOT SERVE THE COMMUNITY.

https://rooseveltislander.blogspot.com/2024/11/rosie-roosevelt-island-wild-turkey.html

ROSIE MAKES NATIONAL TV!

GREAT GIFT FAVORITES AND LOTS OF NEW GREAT STUFF

CREDITS

JUDITH BERDY
ROOSEVELTISLANDER LINK TO ABC NEWS

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Nov

28

Thursday, November 28, 2024 – THE RIHS IS WORKING TO PRESERVE OUR HISTORY

By admin

ON THANKSGIVING

TIME TO SUPPORT

THE WORK OF THE 

R.I.H.S.

https://rooseveltislander.blogspot.com/2024/11/rosie-roosevelt-island-wild-turkey.html

SHOP THE KIOSK ON BLACK FRIDAY FROM 12 NOON TO 5 P.M.

OUR TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK 

GREAT GIFTS AND BOOKS

CREDITS

JUDITH BERDY
ROOSEVELTISLANDER LINK TO ABC NEWS

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Nov

27

Tuesday, November 26, 2024 – A PIONEER PHYSICIAN WHO SAVED THOSE WITH POLIO

By admin

THE PASSING OF A  

MEDICAL LEGEND:

DR. AUGUSTA ALBA

Tuesday, November 26, 2024

ISSUE #1351

Years ago, when visiting Goldwater Hospital I met Dr. Alba.  She was a petite woman who with her talents saved many from years in Iron Lungs and struggling with Polio.  Even after she retired, she was in contact with her former patients.  Unsure of their medical needs, they turned to her for advise.

Goldwater was a leading hospital treating Polio patients and those with respiratory illnesses.  Through her work thousands world-wide were saved from suffering.

She is well remembered by those in the obituaries below.

Judith Below

It is with great sadness that we announce the passing of a beloved colleague and friend, Dr. Augusta Alba.  She passed away on November 5, 2024 (having celebrated her 100th birthday in October 2024).

As the former Chief of Rehabilitation Services at Coler-Goldwater for multiple decades, Dr. Alba’s medical career centered on polio survivors who required breathing assistance.   Her dedication to solving the respiratory insufficiency problems of polio patients led her to master every piece of ventilator equipment and technique—the rocking bed, chest cuirass, frog breathing and noninvasive ventilation.  Dr. Alba always sought to educate both her colleagues and polio survivors about the importance of appropriate equipment and personal assistance. In addition to co-authoring many seminal medical articles on the respiratory topic, her lectures and publications reflect a life-long body of work focused on assisting the respiratory-disabled patient to live the most independent life possible.

Dr. Alba was a champion of person-centered care to her patients, residents, colleagues, and team members.   She was an extraordinary, larger-than-life individual who has had a profound impact on the lives of many.

We extend our heartfelt condolences to Dr. Alba’s family and loved ones.

Sincerely,

-Stephen

***********************************************************

I wanted to share with you all, a copy of Dr. Alba’s recent obituary in the NY Daily News.   She was truly a giant among us,  who inspired us all.  What she was able to accomplish was  simply remarkable and deserves to be honored by us, in a meaningful way, as we all had the privilege of working closely with her for all those years.  In retrospect, her humility belied her tremendous accomplishments.   Her  dedication and determination literally helped make the “iron lung” obsolete, a relic from an age when it, sadly,  was all too commonplace among the victims of polio.  As a child,  I remember this child,  who was around my age, attending a basketball game in an iron lung,  which was so cumbersome and bulky, such that he could only watch  the game using special mirrors.   Let’s pursue this further. Perhaps, an article about her in “Caring for the Ages,” the newsletter of PALTmed (The Post-Acute and Long-Term Care Medical Association) would be a good starting point. 

Regards,

Dr. Howard Finger

Dr. Augusta Alba was a miracle worker for respiratory ills for 53 years – New York Daily News

Dr. Augusta S. Alba Obituary
Dr. Augusta (Strongman) Alba, or “Gussie” as her friends and family called her, transitioned from this life to the next on November 5th, 2024. Hers was a life well-lived. She was a woman of deep Roman Catholic faith, and in the course of her 100 years she answered the call of many vocations, not the least of which were daughter, sister, friend, aunt, wife, physician, mother, grandmother, great-grandmother, and even great-great grandmother.
Gussie was born on October 7, 1924, the middle child of Howard and Augusta Ruth Demsky Strongman, who raised 4 daughters and one son on their farm in upstate Highland, New York. Even at a young age, she was intelligent and determined. She graduated as valedictorian of her class at Highland High School at 15 years old, and won a scholarship to college. In 1940, just shy of her 16th birthday, she began studying chemistry at Wagner College in Staten Island, NY.

At Wagner, she excelled academically, but she also expanded her horizons in other ways. It was there that she decided to convert from Lutheran to Roman Catholic, noting that she was inspired by the Catholic devotion to Mary as the Mother of God. On a blind date in 1940, she met Luigi (Louis) Filippo Alba, a fellow Wagner student. According to family records, on that first night, he told her he was going to marry her, and she promptly told him he was crazy. Luigi went on to coach her in fencing, and she won an inter collegiate championship for form in 1944. Apparently, he was not crazy – they were married not once, but twice: a November 25, 1944 secret civil ceremony, followed by a family-filled wedding at St. Martin of Tours Roman Catholic Church in Amityville, NY, on July 5, 1947.

Gussie graduated summa cum laude from Wagner College and pursued a dual biochemistry PhD and medical degree at Johns Hopkins University in Maryland. However, she returned to New York City after a year, declaring that she would rather work with people than test tubes. She graduated from Cornell University Medical School in 1951, one of only eight women in a class of 100. She then interned at Brooklyn Hospital, followed by two years serving residencies in both Neurology and Psychiatry at the Veterans’ Administration Hospital, also in Brooklyn. In 1957, she completed her fellowship in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at New York University Medical School, then took a position at Coler-Goldwater Specialty Hospital and Nursing Facility on Roosevelt Island, in New York City.

As a trail-blazing physician driven by a compassionate heart, a curious mind, and a tireless work ethic, Dr. Alba’s professional accomplishments were numerous. She focused her career on helping polio survivors and other significantly debilitated individuals with breathing problems. Over the course of her 53 year career at Goldwater, she became a world-renowned leader in this field. At the peak of her career, she was Goldwater’s Director of Respiratory Rehabilitation, while also maintaining relationships with several other New York City hospitals, like New York University Medical Center.

She was an expert in breathing techniques and technologies, and an inventor of new solutions. She was committed to developing ways to allow patients to use less invasive mechanical support, which also improved patient survival rates, since highly intrusive methods came with negative, often fatal, side effects.

Her findings and recommendations were published in 72 peer-reviewed publications, and her work improved the quality and duration of life for innumerable patients. For example, in 1957, she removed over 200 people from continuous dependence on iron lungs and other body ventilators. In 1969, she was the first person to successfully remove a tracheostomy tube from a fully paralyzed patient, transitioning him to a less invasive mouth-based breathing device and enabling the man to have nearly 30 more years of life.

She travelled nationally and globally to lecture on these topics and expand the body of knowledge in this field. Her contributions were recognized by dozens of awards, but more importantly, in the heartfelt appreciation of her patients and colleagues. Her work and dedication provided patients around the world with the ability to breathe easier and enjoy healthier, more independent lives.

At the same time that Dr. Alba was forging her career, she was equally busy creating her family. From 1948 through 1961, she bore 8 children, five sons and 3 daughters. Balancing such an active and distinguished career with motherhood was no easy feat. She was grateful for the assistance of her husband, Lou, her in-laws Enrico and Giovanna Mazzone Alba, and of family friends, Al and Stella Repucci and their daughter, Barbara Repucci, amongst other helpers. As a mother, she was most focused on making sure her children had education, faith, health, and family. She always brought them to church on Sundays and sent them all to Catholic schools. She often brought her children to visit family, mostly in upstate NY and Long Island, enabling them to develop strong bonds and innumerable memories with their Strongman, Alba, and Sipala cousins, and cementing her place as a beloved aunt to her many nieces and nephews.

As grandchildren emerged, Gussie flourished as the family’s magnetic matriarch. Despite her busy schedule, she always made Sundays a special family day. Like her children before them, she fostered her grandchildren’s faith by bringing those who lived near her to Mass every Sunday. She fostered their family bonds by staying for bagels after Mass, bringing them swimming, hosting Christmas, and otherwise bringing them to visit each other. Despite her family spreading out of NY, to Wisconsin, Massachusetts, Georgia, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey, she endeavored to stay engaged, participating in family vacations, sending birthday cards, and being present for every graduation or other major event.

Dr. Alba retired from Coler-Goldwater Specialty Hospital in 2010, at the age of 86. Despite her extraordinary life, she always remained somewhat of a farm girl at heart. She was always naturally an optimist who didn’t need much more than good company to be happy, and she spent her remaining years relishing life’s simple joys. She visited with family up and down the east coast many times. She took a memorable trip to New Mexico to spend quality time with her nieces and nephews in celebration of her 91st birthday, and spent a few beach vacations in the Carolinas with several of her children and grandchildren.

Time outdoors was always a favorite respite. Upon moving to Georgia in 2016 to live with her daughter, Norma, she relished trips to local gardens and museums, and enjoyed many an afternoon basking in the fresh air, reading and taking naps with the cat on the front porch.

With her talents and tenacity, Gussie was an inspiration and role model to many, yet is perhaps best remembered for living the Gospel in all she did, exemplifying what it meant to “Love thy Neighbor.” Her curiosity and compassion were ever-employed: whether you were her patient, her friend, her family, or someone she had just met, she was always concerned, caring, and helpful. She would go out of her way to learn about you, your life, and to make you feel special, no matter who you were. She truly knew what it meant to love everyone, unconditionally – to judge not, lest you be judged. Her life was spent caring for the spiritual and physical health of nearly all that she met, applying her gifts to the best of her ability.

Dr. Alba was predeceased by her husband, Louis, in 2015, and by her brother, Cal Strongman (2013), and sisters Frieda Strongman Trainor (2004), Norma Strongman Metelski Mize (2011), and Elaine Strongman Kesner (2018). She is survived by her 8 children, Joan Lemons, Henry (& Janice) Alba, Robert (& Gael) Alba, Elaine (& Michael) Merenda-Metelski, Norma (& George) McGuigan, Louis (& Maureen) Alba, John (& Rebecca) Alba, and Paul (& Greta) Alba, her “foster” son, Joseph (& Katie) Merenda, as well as 19 grandchildren, 16 great grandchildren, and 3 great-great grandchildren.

OUR TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK 

GREAT GIFT FAVORITES AND LOTS OF NEW GREAT STUFF

GREAT GIFTS AND BOOKS

CREDITS

STEPHEN CATULLO
HOWARD FINGER, MD
NY DAILYNEWS

JUDITH BERDY

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com

Nov

25

Monday, November 25, 2024 – TIME TO CHECK OUT FIFTH AVENUE FOR HOLIDAY TREATS

By admin

Louis Vuitton Conceals Under-Renovation NY Store With Luggage Facade

Fashion brand Louis Vuitton has concealed its under-renovation New York flagship store with a luggage facade and relocated to a temporary store that features OMA-designed sculptures.

Louis Vuitton covered its flagship at East 57th Street and 5th Avenue in a facade modelled after the brand’s distinctive trunks, while simultaneously opening a temporary location around the corner, with sculptures developed with OMA partner Shohei Shigematsu that rise through an atrium.

Designed by Louis Vuitton’s in-house team, the luggage facade wraps completely around the construction underway at the New York City flagship. It resembles six, grey trunks of various sizes stacked in descending size.

According to the team, the design pays homage to the brand’s Trianon Grey canvas, a light grey textile which dates back to the 19th century.

Details such as handles, locks, rivets and silver hardware are also represented on the facade, with the team noting the largest of the handles “weighs 5,000 pounds”.

“It is finished with the classic detailing synonymous with Louis Vuitton’s savoir-faire including handles, signature locks, and silver hardware rendered in chrome-plated, laser-cut steel,” said Louis Vuitton.

“3D scans of real Louis Vuitton hard-sided trunks were used to create the locks and latches, and the steel corners have been hand-welded. The stack features 840 rivets, each etched with the moniker ‘Louis Vuitton’.”

Strips of lighting run along each of the trunk’s perimeters, while bands of black and brown represent leather lining. While construction takes place at the flagship, the brand has relocated its retail operations to a five-storey building around the corner at 6 East 57th Street, which contains four floors inhabited by a chocolate shop, men’s and women’s wear, and the debut of the brand’s first cafe in the US.

The building’s exterior architecture and interior floorplan remain unchanged according to the team, although it is now outfitted in a material palette of light woods, creams and shades of brown amongst an exposed concrete structure

Four, towering 16-meter-tall sculptures developed by Shigematsu sit in the lobby atrium, similarly modelled after “iconic” trunks.

“The trunks are built at the ateliers to actual product specifications and stacked to erect shifting, counterbalancing, twisting and zigzagging forms showcasing strength and lightness,” said the team.

“Each is further distinguished by using different Louis Vuitton materials – historic stripes, classic Monogram canvas, white Damier, and a metallic Monogram – which have redefined the timeless piece from the past to today.”

Oversized, sculptures of a giraffe and ostrich and a screen with Louis Vuitton motifs cover the building’s facade, which was also lined with bright exterior pendants.

The flagship construction could “potentially” double the size of the store, according to New York Yimby, while the temporary location will shut down after the renovation is complete

Today, Louis Vuitton unveiled their largest retail space in the United States, located at 6 E. 57th Street NYC. Though the store is a temporary location while the iconic Louis Vuitton flagship on 5th Avenue undergoes a multi-year renovation, you would not know it from a look inside. The location spans five floors and features a chocolate shop, a café, and a capsule collection that pays tribute to the city that never sleeps.

Upon entering the location, one immediately finds themself in an atrium space offering a glimpse of the above four floors. The room is adorned with stacks of the House’s Courrier Lozine trunks spanning from floor to ceiling. Designed by architect Shohei Shigematsu, the trunks highlight different materials the Maison is known for – from classic Monogram canvas to sophisticated white Damier checkerboard. It is a visual spectacle on a scale only Louis Vuitton could execute with such perfection.

OUR TAPESTRY THROW IS BACK 

GREAT GIFT FAVORITES AND LOTS OF NEW GREAT STUFF

GREAT GIFTS AND BOOKS

CREDITS

JUDITH BERDY

All image are copyrighted (c) Roosevelt Island Historical Society unless otherwise indicated
THIS PUBLICATION FUNDED BY DISCRETIONARY FUNDS FROM CITY COUNCIL MEMBER JULIE MENIN & ROOSEVELT ISLAND OPERATING CORPORATION PUBLIC PURPOSE FUNDS.

Copyright © 2024 Roosevelt Island Historical Society, All rights reserved.Our mailing address is:
rooseveltislandhistory@gmail.com